EOI for Tasmanian Animal Welfare Advisory Committee (AWAC) Chair

The Animal Welfare Advisory Committee (AWAC) is established under the Animal Welfare Act 1993. Its functions are set out under section 40 of the Act and include advising the Minister on animal welfare issues and considering any proposed changes to animal welfare legislation.  

Section 39 of the Animal Welfare Act 1993 outlines membership of the committee. Most of the members are representatives of organisations specified under the Act, however the Chairperson is independent.  All members are appointed by the Minister.
The most recent AWAC Chair has resigned and expressions of interest are being sought to fill the position of Chairperson. Remuneration for this position is $10,000 pa. 

Members of AWAC, including the Chair, are appointed by the Minister for a maximum term of 3 years and may be reappointed. Meetings are held approximately quarterly or as required. 

Interested applicants should provide a statement that outlines their interest in and suitability for the position of Chairperson. 

Expressions of Interest should be addressed to: Fiona De Jersey, Executive Officer, Animal Welfare Advisory Committee, c/- Biosecurity Tasmania, Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE), GPO Box 44, Hobart Tasmania 7001 or emailed to: Fiona.DeJersey@dpipwe.tas.gov.au  by 5pm, Monday 13 July 2020.

For further information on the AWAC please refer to the Animal Welfare Act 1993 at www.thelaw.tas.gov.au or contact Kevin de Witte, Chief Veterinary Officer on 0408 869 446 or by email: Kevin.dewitte@dpipwe.tas.gov.au‚Äč
Back Home